Hula Hoopin’ and What I Ate Wednesday

Walking through Wal-Mart the other day with a little time to kill I browsed the fitness section to see if I could find a yoga DVD or a Jillian Michaels DVD that looked doable. Seriously that woman kicks ass! I came across this weighted hula hoop and thought it looked like fun.

PicMonkey Collage

At first I was a little hesitant because the last time I tried to hula hoop ended in frustration and a little humiliation because I couldn’t do it. I was so sad because when I was a kid I loved to hula hoop, and now it seemed I couldn’t do it anymore. I wondered when I had lost it. But then I heard that I just needed a bigger hoop, and hope was restored.

It came with an instructional DVD which I followed along with the first time until I got the hang of it. And then it was fun!

I decided this week to join in on What I Ate Wednesday, a fun linkup hosted by Jenn at Peas And Crayons.

For breakfast I had Kashi Go Lean Crunch with almond milk. Love the Kashi, it tastes delicious and fills me up. I also had a banana that didn’t make it into the picture.

215

Continuing on with #5 on my Birthday Bucket List (try 10 new foods) I made this kale salad with a creamy yogurt dressing. It was so yummy, I will definitely be having more kale.

028

It made an excellent side to this chicken breast with garlic sauce.

039

A little later I had a baked potato and these Baked Asparagus Fries from No Thanks to Cake. Mmm, so yummy!

119

For dinner I had some more of the kale salad and these pork chops with rhubarb from the latest issue of Clean Eating magazine.

003

I’d never had rhubarb before. I thought it was pretty good, just a little sweet for my taste, but it went well with the pork chop. I’ll probably make it again.

So of the 3 new recipes I tried today, I think the one I liked best was the Baked Asparagus Fries. What’s the best thing you ate today?

 

2 thoughts on “Hula Hoopin’ and What I Ate Wednesday

  1. that all looks fantastic! I love the looks of that kale salad. I’m not a big rhubarb person either… it’s been a while since I’ve tried it though. Maybe I’ll give it another shot one day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

