This week’s goals & why I’m taking a break from my scale

SetGoal-MakePlan-etc_20140616-300x206

swimming-pool-504780_1280

I should add get a good night’s sleep no matter what it takes in there, because the reason I’m sitting down writing and not at the beach running right now is because I did NOT get a good night’s sleep last night. I tried, but it didn’t happen thanks to this furry guy.

410

This is Alice. (I thought he was a girl when I named him). And Alice decided he had to go through the apartment howling at the top of his lungs at 4 a.m. And at 5 a.m. And again at 6 a.m. So when my alarm went off at 7 a.m. I didn’t hit Snooze. I hit Dismiss, and spent 2 hours trying to get back to sleep. Finally gave up on that about 9 and got out of bed, cranky, hungry and still very sleepy.

304

Look, at that. Not an ounce of remorse. Nothing disturbing his sleep, grrr.

Anyway, I set some goals for this week in order to keep better track of my progress. I tried to make them doable and specific, and I’m confident I’ll reach them.

I haven’t been weighing in lately, because honestly the number on the scale is not my biggest concern right now. Technically I’m in a healthy weight range or at least no more than 2 pounds away from it.

But my muscles are not strong, I can’t run more than a minute and a half without stopping. My blood pressure is high and I’m not anywhere near as flexible as I used to be. So I need to focus more on eating healthy and getting the nutrients I need than counting calories or on what the number on the scale happens to be today. That’s why my goals for this week include exercise and trying new foods, and not anything about losing a pound.

Well, that’s what I’ll be working on this week. How about you? Any goals this week, fitness or otherwise?

Leave a Reply

