Savory Chicken Breasts with Garlic-Thyme Sauce

756

One of my favorite things to do is to play around in the kitchen and see what I can come up with. Yesterday I decided to try to make something new with what I had on hand and this is the result. I’m calling it Savory Chicken Breasts with Garlic-Thyme Sauce. Doesn’t that just sound all fancy and delicious?

Well it is delicious and it might taste fancy, but it’s super easy to make and not too hard on the budget either. And it’s full of garlicky goodness. I’m a garlic fiend, can’t get enough of it myself. Now on to the recipe:

Savory Chicken Breasts with Garlic-Thyme Sauce

2 – 5 oz. boneless, skinless chicken breasts
salt and pepper
1 tbsp. olive oil
2 – garlic cloves, sliced very thin
1/2 tbsp. butter
1 c. chicken broth
1/2 c. white wine
1 lemon
1 large pinch dried thyme

Place the chicken breasts between two pieces of plastic wrap and flatten to a uniform thickness. Season both sides with salt and pepper.
In skillet, heat olive oil over medium-high heat and brown chicken breasts about 3-4 minutes per side. Transfer to a plate and keep warm.
Melt butter over low heat and soften garlic in the butter until it’s almost translucent. Don’t brown the garlic.
Pour in chicken broth and scrape brown bits off bottom of the pan. Add white wine, lemon juice and thyme. Turn heat to high. Simmer and reduce the sauce until it’s thick, about 20 minutes.
Pour any juices from the plate into the skillet and stir. Pour garlic and sauce over chicken and serve.

See, easy-peasy, right? Hope you enjoy it!

Besides coming up with fabulous recipes I’ve been mostly working out indoors because it is just ridiculously hot. I mean like, it’s literally 95 by 10 a.m. here almost every morning for weeks. And it rains every day. Which you would think would cool it off, but it doesn’t. It just makes everything more muggy.

So basically I’ve just been lifting free weights in my living room while watching Desperate Housewives. Such a fabulous life. The only cardio I get these days is the 2 mile round trip I walk to the grocery store. Until this heat wave passes, that will have to do.

But I did manage to get one big thing off my Birthday Bucket List. I ran (well, mostly walked) a 5K! It was a virtual 5K through Will Run for Bling and Charity and it was to benefit the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation. I ran it at the Sunbay Fitness up the road from me and which I am now trying to save money to join. And I got this awesome medal –

PicMonkey Collage

See how the lid flips up and you see the treasure inside? How stinkin’ cute is that?!

My time was pretty miserable – 42:24, which officially makes me a turtle I think. But that’s okay! I did it, and that’s what matters, and I loved it so I’ll do it again. There’s a new race coming up soon, and since it’s held September 5 – 13 I can run it on the treadmill on my upcoming cruise. This one benefits Doctors Without Borders, which is a truly awesome organization.

And the medal is super cool, too!

 lifesabeach-finalI can’t wait for this one. Hoping to come in with a much better time on this one. Never thought I would ever actually be in a 5K, virtual or otherwise, but I guess never say never.

Well, off to work out and watch Desperate Housewives, hahaha. Have a great weekend!

15 thoughts on “Savory Chicken Breasts with Garlic-Thyme Sauce

  1. This looks so delicious & my garden is overflowing with Thyme this year so it’s perfect! Thanks so much! I’m stopping by from My Favorite Things Saturday blog hop.
    Angie

    Like

    • Thanks! Ah you’re so lucky to have a garden. I would love to grow my own herbs at least but I have a black thumb. I’ve even killed cactus lol. Hope you enjoy the recipe. Let me know how it turns out if you try it!

      Like

  2. Great recipe!! Thanks for sharing at the Talented Tuesday party! You were our most clicked on entry! Hope you stop by to see the feature and link up again 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

